The four types of solar eclipses are:

  1. Partial eclipse
  2. Annular eclipse
  3. Total eclipse
  4. Hybrid eclipse

In a partial, annular or hybrid phases of solar eclipse, the Moon does not completely block our view of the Sun.  Use proper eye protection in these phases to avoid injury to your eyes.